One week

Posted: June 16, 2013 in writing
Tags:

It’s been a week. I keep waiting for you to call.
Wishing you were here to catch me as I fall.
But I know the desire is futile; it’s not meant to be
Happiness has once again eluded me.

It’s been a week. I’ve removed all physical trace
Bar the memories I’m battling to displace –
Ghostly reminders of a recent time
When the world’s euphoric and our hearts sublime.

It’s been a week and still, emotion is heavy.
I conjure your name among the calligraphy.
Moments later, reality strikes through
I’m reminded: This is the end; not our debut.

It’s been a week. I’ve realised my unfortunate mistake.
I should never have made myself vulnerable to heartbreak.
The all consuming sadness is pitiless as the night
It’ll be a while before the injured takes flight.

Leave a Reply

