Escape

Posted: May 1, 2013 in writing
Tags: ,

Earphones in, I turn the volume up real loud
hoping to drown the nauseous background chatter.
I’ve heard this lecture many times before,
A recurring theme…the words no longer matter.

Immersing myself in the lyrical melody,
I allow imagination to scatter.
Shifting my attention to the euphony,
I refuse to let composure shatter.

Out of my peripheral vision, I see
the outrageous gestures of a mime
But the act no longer moves me, I deny
participation in her psycho-paradigm.

I push the decibels higher, until music
consumes all thoughts and brings serenity.
I refuse to entertain the face of sorrow
or endure the voice of irrationality.

The whimsical world wraps its wonders around me
I eagerly escape to the land of solitude
Where I am the master of destiny
And emancipate myself from servitude.

Leave a Reply

