Coincidence?

Posted: July 14, 2011 in Life
Tags: , , , ,

I generally don’t pay much attention to coincidences. I don’t over analyze them in the hopes of gathering some deep, meaningful message that will make me a better person, or whatever. BUT! I came across something that’s just too funny to ignore.

If you’ve been following my blog somewhat religiously, then you would’ve encountered many instances where I ramble, complain, despair at “the bf” situation. Apparently, people just can’t understand why I want a computer geek boyfriend.

One of the first things I do is scroll through my RSS feed every morning and read the comics. Dilbert is one of my favourite. It encapsulates many of my interests: Accounting, economics, human behaviour and computers. What I love about today’s Dilbert is that it addresses something close to my heart. That it’s posted on my birthday is cause for much amusement.

I realize the comic is taking a jab at how ridiculous it is to have “be a dork” as a romantic preference. Personally, I don’t see anything wrong with that. Ok, maybe having a Star Wars chess set or knowing how to speak Elven is going too far – although I’m pretty sure most dorks aren’t as extreme as that – but is it really such a terrible idea to want someone who: 1) has a nice earning potential 2) can offer me free technical support and 3) isn’t a douche-bag fifty percent of the time?

Comments
  1. jGLZa says:

    Firstly Happy Birthday.

    Also, I’m pretty sure most dorks are that extreme, except A) they will never admit it or B) cannot afford the lifestyle – its expensive to be a dork/geek, you know how expensive Star Wars chess sets are?

    Aside: I’d kill for a Star Wars Chess set.

  2. Amy says:

    Haha thanks for giving my blog so much <3 you're the best! I wished for a relatively sane, somewhat good-looking and a not-so-extreme geek bf. I have 365 days to be hopeful :)

  3. LE says:

    I shall have to accuse you of luring men – fine geeks and nerds – onto your blog like sailors and sirens in times of yore.

  4. jGLZa says:

    whatever works hey

  5. Anonymous says:

    >somewhat good-looking

    That cancels out about 96% of geek guys.

    • Amy says:

      lol I guess if I don’t find one in the next 5 years, I’ll just have to settle for a boring accountant, or something.

  6. Anonymous says:

    And jGLZA, stop stalking Amy!!

Leave a Reply

