The Elephant in the Room

Posted: November 27, 2009 in writing
Tags:

There was a poetry competition a while back…the theme was The Elephant in the Room…thought I’d share my entry :) (Couldn’t post it back then cuz it was against competition rules or somefink)

(a BIG thanks to Mother and maddie for their critiques) :)

Daddy, Daddy.

every night i lie in bed. awake…
heart, heavy in my chest –
i wait and wait for Him, the Snake,
to creep beneath my dress.

will He come tonight? is He late?
or has He simply forgotten?
i curl up in a ball of hate
and try to wish away His sin.

i am but a little girl
of eight, ten and fourteen;
trapped in this nightmare world,
why must Daddy be so mean?

He tells me He loves me. me!
but why is love this painful?
He gives me His guarantee,
then uses me like a tool.

“It will be our little secret. Shh…
“Don’t let Mommy know.”
His fingers trail across my flesh,
and i silently scream, “No, Daddy! No!”

the tears well up, i weep in despair:
“Stop doing this, Daddy! Daddy, please let go.”
but He doesn’t hear and He doesn’t care.
He keeps on delivering blow by blow.

unable to see, my vision is blurred;
paralysed by fear, i freeze still.
blink once, twice, and upon the third,
i breathe in this midnight chill.

Leave a Reply

