bored [dot] com

Posted: November 22, 2008 in Life
Tags:

After 4 months of awesome clubbing living in CT, I am back in Kimberley once again, bracing the drudgery of Life in the Big Holeβ„’. There is nothing to do and no-one to see. Most of my friends only get back around the 27th which leaves me stranded like a lost puppy on a desert island. The boredom fatigue is wearing me thin. It’s amazing how so little has changed. Contrary to everywhere else, Kimberley bears no signs of development. There are no bulldozers and cranes sitting on vacant plots, no bricks and tiles lining the streets, nothing, except…[drumroll]…for a big, fat, yellow M. Yup, that’s right. We have a MacDonalds – the first one since the city’s inception. Best of all, it is 5 minutes away from my house. I can see myself doing the daily power walk that will invariably take me to the awesome MacFlurry. Aaahh!

M

M

Sadly, eating ice-cream only takes up +/- 15 minutes, which means I still have 23 hours and 45 minutes of vacuum waiting to be filled. So, I stocked up on my movies/series collection, and started vegetating in front of the TV.

First on the list: Napoleon Dynamite. Can I just say: What the feck? It is possibly the most idiotic/time-wasting/brain-cell killing movie on the planet. Granted, I only watched the first 15 minutes, but that further strengthens my point on its pathetic retardation.

Next: Grey’s Anatomy. At first, I saw little of the hype that had my friends so deeply engrossed. However, as the season progressed, I found myself trapped in the surgical lives of interns. Great plot, enticing cast, and one hot McDreamy. [Yes, I know he’s too old for me, but who cares?]

Greys Anatomy

Grey's Anatomy

Alas, my stock of episodes is depleting. So what’s next on the agenda? A job. Unfortunately Pricewaterhouse Coopers do not take in vac workers during the December/January holiday, so I had to enlist the help of the yellow pages. I managed to get an internship position at an accounting firm, starting next Monday, and will be posting daily updates of my employment experience. So *watch this space*.

Last, but not least, desperation drove me into Googling for a cure to boredom. Apparently, there is a site dedicated to boredom-alleviation. Ironically, everything on the website falls under the ‘boring’ category. Go figure. Of course, being on 56k isn’t very helpful either – but I digress.

Comments
  1. Kenshin says:

    What happened to your daily job updates? I hear you were in prison?!

  2. Aimz says:

    Working from 8 – 5 drained all my energy. I was too tired to blog. Will post something tomorrow (The prison encounter will be detailed). Plus, I was working at an accounting firm – not the most exciting thing in the world.

Leave a Reply

